Nicholson's Pub
4.3 Stars - Based on 6347 User Reviews
appleappstore logofacebook logogoogle logoopentable logotheknot logotripadvisor logoyelp logo

Tyler Jones AvatarTyler Jones
Service was great, Jesse was upbeat, engaging, and very helpful. Food was good though my steak was unevenly cooked. Great location directly across from the Aronoff center. - 5/17/2024 
read more
TylerJ
Great service in a nice location. Only complaint would be my steak was unevenly cooked and fries were soggy due to steak sauce and juices spreading across the plate. - 5/17/2024 
read more
CincinnatiFoodie
Our food was fabulous as was our server. We will definitely return!! - 5/17/2024 
read more
GailK
We enjoyed the mystery dinner before "Clue" at the Aronoff. The one thing that bothered my companion was that the food in the chafing dishes was cold: Mac & cheese and taco meat & rice. I must thank your staff, especially Shannen and Chef, for accommodating my need for gluten-free food. The Pad Thai was good, and thanks to their willingness to have coconut aminos available, along with a clean pan and tongs, made my evening!! Thank you!! - 5/16/2024 
read more
KR AZ AvatarKR AZ
Basic Irish pub food but it was good. Server could have been a little more attentive as it was not that busy. Fish and chips were good as well as the Guinesss and Burger. The atmosphere was really nice and upscale. - 5/13/2024 
read more
Andrew Swan AvatarAndrew Swan
As a Scot loved it, seemed great. Sadly moved to outdoor front as my 18 year old was with me and sun was challenging first half hour. . Strange how policy differs from establishment to establishment in Cincy on adult minors! Loved the beer and food, I had turkey option, (although a 'banger' is fried or baked but never 'gekocht' so disappointed there). As I said it looks great. Wanted to try some bourbon too, as I was in 'Rome', but felt isolated and pushed outside. That said great malt selection as a someone who seeks my national drink normally. At 5pm, I think you'd do better by groups with adult nondrinkers by being more welcoming. Other wise I'd offer 5stars. That said Scottish folk it's a must if in toon! - 5/10/2024 
read more
Tim Doran AvatarTim Doran
Stopped in for drinks with friends and family. Our server was awesome. Everyone loved the atmosphere. We did not eat. - 5/10/2024 
read more
Sheila Wagnon AvatarSheila Wagnon
Amazing! - 5/10/2024 
read more
Feb2022
Our server, Chloe, was very nice and extremely efficient. She was one of the best servers I’ve had in a long while. The meals were plentiful and full of flavor. Nice night out for myself and my husband. - 5/05/2024 
read more
AmyO
Jack was terrific! He made our experience great! Food was okay. - 5/04/2024 
read more
Thomas Savarino AvatarThomas Savarino
This is a high concept place that delivers. All the waitstaff wear kilts. They have a massive selection of scotches that they serve from upside down bottles. The food was good. We had bourbon drinks, and the one that was smoked was done really well. Great place, check it out - 5/03/2024 
read more
Stephen VanKirk AvatarStephen VanKirk
Highly recommended! - 4/26/2024 
read more
Eric D.
5 star rating This is an excellent example of how to operate a restaurant! The place was absolutely packed when I arrived. I sat down at the bar and had a bartender almost immediately, I ordered a beer and then food. The entree came out of the kitchen about 5 minutes after I ordered and was fantastic. 10/10 would recommend! - 4/25/2024 
read more
David K. AvatarDavid K.
5 star rating Great location and vibe. Almost like an Irish/sports pub. Great service and great food. Bartenders were on point and quick. - 4/20/2024 
read more
Tiffany AvatarTiffany
The BEST brunch I've had in a loooong time! I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. I didn't want the shrimp and grits, so I ordered the cheddar grits with the SnG sauce on the side to taste. It was AMAZING!! I also enjoyed the scotch egg and the breakfast burrito with prime rib. My DD had the tipsy French toast with regular maple syrup. The menu said it came with candied bacon. We were excited to try it. Unfortunately, the bacon was chopped into bits and not whole slices as we thought it would be. Overall she enjoyed her FT and would order again. Great experience, great food...would definitely come again. - 4/17/2024 
read more
Jesse Gibson AvatarJesse Gibson
Nicholson's is a favorite of ours! We live about 3 hours away but whenever we are here it is a must have. The atmosphere is cool. Waiters and waitersses in kilts, fun stuff. If all you do is have the fries cooked in duck fat with the house made ketchup it's worth the stop. The fish and chips are awesome! I had the Bangers and mash last time and loved it. Sausages made in house are great! They also have a an extensive Scotch menu, IPA's, and small batch Bourbon. All in all you have to try them out! - 4/17/2024 
read more
M T AvatarM T
During my recent work trip, I had the pleasure of dining at Nicholson's. I started with their famous Scotch egg. The crispy outer layer revealed a perfectly cooked egg with a creamy yolk, complemented well by their tangy housemade mustard. Then I had the fish and chips, which were spot-on. The crispy batter encasing the tender fish was light and the fish itself was succulent. Throughout my dining experience, the service at Nicholson's was top-notch. - 4/17/2024 
read more
Amanda Fisher AvatarAmanda Fisher
Very cool place! Food was really good and the service was too. The chicken schnitzel and pork chop were so good, highly recommend. We finished it off with bourbon creme Brule with fresh berries. Highly recommend. The Scottish history in there is great!! - 4/17/2024 
read more
Jessica Faust AvatarJessica Faust
The IAIABC brought a group of about 30 attendees for a private dinner and had a wonderful time. The service and food were great. If you're looking for a reasonably priced private space Nicholson's is the place to go! - 4/17/2024 
read more
Maia Koressel AvatarMaia Koressel
Best steak I've ever had. Delicious food, wonderful service, clean, fun & classy atmosphere, queer friendly, spacious, I could go on and on. Hope this place stays here forever!! - 4/17/2024 
read more
Alejandra Cadiz AvatarAlejandra Cadiz
We were there on a Sunday evening and everything was perfect. The atmosphere was nice, quieter than I expected, but that may be due to the fact that it was Sunday. - 4/17/2024 
read more
Ed McMasters AvatarEd McMasters
LUV the fish and chips! Delicious! Would like a much larger portion of the coleslaw! - 4/17/2024 
read more
Denis Butler AvatarDenis Butler
One of the top pubs in downtown cincinnati. Great food, excellent service. - 4/17/2024 
read more
Alys L AvatarAlys L
Kid-friendliness: Crayons, coloring sheets, great kids menu! - 4/17/2024 
read more
Kelly Crout AvatarKelly Crout
Great food and service. Make a reservation if on the weekend - 4/17/2024 
read more
Kyrellos Ekladious AvatarKyrellos Ekladious
I got the bacon bbq burger and it was amazing - 4/17/2024 
read more
William Gatewood AvatarWilliam Gatewood
Good lots of people love it and I was there - 4/17/2024 
read more
Jessica O.
4 star rating Across from the Aronoff. Convenient if you are attending a show. Food was very good and came out fast. Live music. Not too loud. Very nice ambiance. Recommend Fish and Chips and Shrimp and grits. Smoked salmon appetizer was great. - 4/11/2024 
read more
Bruce S. AvatarBruce S.
4 star rating We had a nice dinner at Nicholson's tonight. The food was good. The server was excellent, Joshua. But the music was so loud that it was hard to have conversation. - 3/29/2024 
read more
Libby V. AvatarLibby V.
5 star rating Always love it here but love even more to find out they do theme drinks for the theater across the street. This will get me here every show! Otherwise I enjoy an afternoon or early evening at the bar, with a few drinks and a cheese tray. Love cutting the cheese with friends. Saw a tiny lady get the largest sandwich I ever saw. Turns out she shared it, but it was big enough for a family of four! She didn't even finish her half. Huge portions are a turn off for me. - 3/25/2024 
read more
Amy C. AvatarAmy C.
5 star rating Had the BEST meal and service today. Natalie was a GREAT SERVER and the special Peter Pan menu was a nice touch before seeing the play. PLEASE keep cocktails sauce as an option for your fish and chips. I don't like tarter but LOVED having it for my shrimp and fish today. - 3/23/2024 
read more
David R. AvatarDavid R.
5 star rating Nothing is more satisfying than spending time in a true Irish bar. While traveling through Cincinnati on my way to other destinations, I happened to be staying at a hotel in town and my son just, by chance, was in town for a business meeting tomorrow. He had been to Nicholsons before and suggested we go. As a fan of Guinness, we definitely started out with a draft. With an appetizer of Scottish eggs and some bangers and mash, it became a memorable night. Almost felt like we were in downtown Dublin. - 3/21/2024 
read more
Leigh Anne AvatarLeigh Anne
Service is excellent. Atmosphere was great. KY Hot Brown was excellent. Water with lemon is delicious. Sat at the bar due to no reservation. The waitress was kind, and professional. Thank you for a great meal. Parking: Not sure about parking. Parked in a parking garage. Wheelchair accessibility: If, I remember correctly there are no steps. You may want to call and ask. - 3/17/2024 
read more
Chad Straber AvatarChad Straber
I went at 11ish and was seated right away. The place was clean and customer service was really nice! I ordered the Goetta Hash off their brunch menu and it was surprisingly good! I enjoyed the dish and would describe it as a savory with a bit of sweet and spicy (the Chipotle honey sauce doesn't overwhelm the dish). I'd recommend this to other goetta lovers! - 3/17/2024 
read more
Rebecca Comley AvatarRebecca Comley
We were in Cincinnati and looking for a place to have lunch. Picked Nicholson’s and did not regret it. Awesome atmosphere and great servers. We had Rodolfo and he was absolutely amazing. We will definitely be back. - 3/17/2024 
read more
Allison Cooper AvatarAllison Cooper
Great pub near Chinatown and West End. We stopped in before a show. Rosie and Nadine were fantastic bartenders. Our family loved the beef pie and fish and chips. Highly recommend! - 3/17/2024 
read more
Ronnie AvatarRonnie
We hosted a 25 person dinner here and had a great time. They were super helpful and on top of everything. Our whole group had a great time. - 3/17/2024 
read more
Kathryn Ackley AvatarKathryn Ackley
I had the chicken schnitzel, and it was excellent. Service was amazing. Very friendly staff. Valet parking made the evening hassle free. - 3/17/2024 
read more
Martin Grem AvatarMartin Grem
Favorite for us foodies and love the authentic Scottish mix with current restaurantalist. - 3/17/2024 
read more
Keith Boyea AvatarKeith Boyea
I was slightly disappointed by the fish and chips but everything else was great. - 3/17/2024 
read more
Anthony Crespo AvatarAnthony Crespo
Great people, great place and excellent food! - 3/17/2024 
read more
Kara Eastridge AvatarKara Eastridge
Good food and service. - 3/17/2024 
read more
Chad P. AvatarChad P.
5 star rating I've been here a couple times now and love this place! Want to return often and that's how good it is! Came here on a weekend and it wasn't very busy at all but I can imagine it gets pretty busy during game times. Had some great food including the Scotch egg appetizers, fish and chips, chicken schnitzel, the breadboard, Shepherd's gastro burger, and the horse and barrel sliders through all of my visits here. Every one of them has been amazing! Literally just great. The breadboard was a lot of fun and everything else just tasted so good. Definitely top-notch food here! Came here once before a show at the Aronoff Center across the street and it was pretty darn busy. They take reservations though so keep that in mind. It's pretty loud as well but the food is just so good and the service is always been great. Ambiance is big and classic pub-looking and just overall fun! We've had Imran as our waiter and he took care of his great. Everyone else who served us just took care of us great. This is a great place that is trying to uphold it's great reputation and I'm proud to continue patronizing them! - 3/10/2024 
read more
Dayana Kim AvatarDayana Kim
Made a reservation for early dinner before a show at the Arnoff, (a must when there’s an event across the street). We loved the happy hour menu, the duck fat fries are to die for! And the smokiness in the cheese sauce from the Pub Pretzel was a surprise! For dinner we had the fish and chips. Fish was crispy, flaky, very nicely cooked. The coleslaw had a nice flavor that reminded me of crab salad, not sweet at all which I like. We also ordered the bangers and smash, the gravy was luscious! Avril-Bleh had a nice charr taste to it, and the braised cabbage added a much needed tangy contrast, bringing the dish together. Sorry no pictures of the food, but the portions were nicely sized. As for the drinks, we had one of the Beetlejuice specials, a chocolate flavored drink that we were not a fan of, but the sangria was on point. Our server was really attentive and courteous. Definitely stopping by next time we are in the area. - 2/17/2024 
read more
Monica Schwab AvatarMonica Schwab
This is always my favorite place to go before a show at the Aronoff. They have a great alcohol selection and the fish and chips are top tier! I love that they have specials for every musical. Fish and chips are the best! - 2/17/2024 
read more
Traveler_312 AvatarTraveler_312
Thoroughly enjoyed my scotch egg and duck fat fries. The garlic mayo was nice too. They had a large selection of scotch whiskys. Everyone else enjoyed their food as well. - 2/17/2024 
read more
Megan Hughes AvatarMegan Hughes
I had the shepherd's pie and it was out of this world. Everyone working there was so friendly and all the food was amazing! - 2/17/2024 
read more
Craig Reed AvatarCraig Reed
Always a great place to go before a show at Aronoff. The drinks are great - 2/17/2024 
read more
cj mclin Avatarcj mclin
First time here. Great atmosphere and even better service. - 2/17/2024 
read more
Kaelyn Savidge AvatarKaelyn Savidge
Had a great time here! Would Go again and take guests! - 2/17/2024 
read more
Wyatt Thielman AvatarWyatt Thielman
Great bar service and delicious food! - 2/17/2024 
read more
Michael Blanchard AvatarMichael Blanchard
Great atmosphere - 2/17/2024 
read more
Allison Rizzo
We had a wonderful experience with the team at Nicholson's. We hosted a travelers cocktail party in lieu of a formal rehearsal dinner. The venue was upbeat and casual, and my guests loved the ambiance of the space. The food was fantastic and plentiful, we had so many options to choose from. We also have a few dietary restrictions in our group, and they went out of their way to prepare us allergen-free plates in addition to the selections we had made. The staff was extremely friendly and kind, and they were visible and quick to take drink orders. I am so thrilled we hosted our party here. Seriously couldn't have been a better experience, and the price point was super palatable compared to other options in downtown Cincinnati. - 2/14/2024 
read more
Carolynne P. AvatarCarolynne P.
5 star rating This was my first time here. Our water, Caleb was friendly and had tremendous attention to detail. The food was amazing. Definitely will be back! - 2/11/2024 
read more
Kimberly AvatarKimberly
The food was good and had decent prices. Service was bad - it was a while before receiving our first drink. Asked for the second one in advance due to the first wait, and the waiter forgot us. Never came back to check on us when we received food. Had to flag the waiter down who forgot, after being asked 3 times, for mayonnaise. - 1/17/2024 
read more
sean pettit Avatarsean pettit
I was delightfully surprised coming here on New Year's Eve to be served by an amazing bartender by the name of CJ. My entourage and I were served expertly crafted cocktails, wonderfully concocted jokes, and were all made feel welcomed and merry. Will be coming back, if not solely to see CJ again! - 1/17/2024 
read more
Derek Blackwell AvatarDerek Blackwell
Came here lastnight for dinner. Everything was great! Anymore I usually leave restaurants somewhat disappointed. The service, food, and drinks were nothing less than perfect at Nicholsons. I ordered fish and chips and it was delicious. I will be back to try other food. - 1/17/2024 
read more
J W AvatarJ W
Stopped here during Santa con. Was a great local bar and very nice inside. Enjoyed the Irish egg rolls. Great selection of beers and liquors. Super friendly staff. Lots of open seating when I arrived. Does look like they take reservations as well! - 1/17/2024 
read more
Thomas Lynn (Pokemon Disigma) AvatarThomas Lynn (Pokemon Disigma)
Great food and atmosphere. The only issue I had was the scotch egg was average but the beer cheese and egg roll was amazing. The bangers and mash were great as well. Cannot wait to visit again. - 1/17/2024 
read more
Debbie Berger AvatarDebbie Berger
Great food! Perfect spot for a dinner or drink before a show! They even save your leftovers for you while you attend a show! Really great staff and delicious food. - 1/17/2024 
read more
Katrina Zielonka AvatarKatrina Zielonka
Quickly becoming a favorite. CJ took excellent care of us- was attentive, kind, and so charismatic! Thank you CJ for fostering a fantastic evening! - 1/17/2024 
read more
Ed Mowl AvatarEd Mowl
One of my favorite places to go before a show. Food is always top notch and staff is the best. - 1/17/2024 
read more
Derek Denny AvatarDerek Denny
Cozy atmosphere, great food, and amazing staff! I will definitely be back! - 1/17/2024 
read more
Michaelin “Mickey” Weber AvatarMichaelin “Mickey” Weber
Good food! Restaurant is busy all the time. Best to make reservations... - 1/17/2024 
read more
Tabitha Lambert AvatarTabitha Lambert
We ordered Bangers and Mash and Shepard's Pie. Food was great. - 1/17/2024 
read more
Maddie Oglesbee AvatarMaddie Oglesbee
Vibes: Immaculate; Food: Bussin’; Bartender: Queen - 1/17/2024 
read more
Suzy Carbrey AvatarSuzy Carbrey
Fantastic food and service! - 1/17/2024 
read more
Andy Miller
The team at Nicholson’s was great to work with! We had a few changes that came up throughout the process and they were always flexible and understanding. The space worked perfectly for our reception and the staff was friendly and efficient, especially given the size of our party. - 12/20/2023 
read more
Julieanne Nardi AvatarJulieanne Nardi
Such a fun time at the bar before the Mrs. Doubtfire show! The bar tender was fabulous!! - 12/17/2023 
read more
Lindsey Moran AvatarLindsey Moran
Y'all, this restaurant was fantastic! CJ was our server and he was absolutely spectacular! He knew what we wanted before WE knew what we wanted. I had the fish and chips for dinner and it was enough for a second meal. The fish was crispy and flavorful and the fries were perfect. The ketchup was surprisingly delicious as well. Overall I would absolutely eat here again, but only if CJ was the server! - 12/12/2023 
read more
Lee Heffner AvatarLee Heffner
My husband and I came here on a whim from Louisville, Kentucky and loved it! Our server, Chloe, was fantastic. I loved the hot brown - one of the best I have ever had, if not the very best, and I snuck a few bites of his Burgoo which was also excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant! We had fun walking around 21c as well, after lunch. - 12/11/2023 
read more
We went to Nicholson’s for dinner right before a show at the Aronoff. It was a great place to go for holiday spirit. They had some fun delinks related to the show. The fish and chips never disappoints! - 12/11/2023 
read more
Chase Johnson AvatarChase Johnson
Everything was great! From the food to the service. The bartender Natalie was absolutely amazing!!!!! Best bartender ever. - 12/11/2023 
read more
I had the pot roast with mashed potatoes & carrots. Everything was outstanding!! - 12/11/2023 
read more
SusanG
Great food and lovely service! Sat by the fireplace and was very comfy! Pineapple Upside Down Cake Martini was delish! Always love their show based offerings! They never fail to give us a wonderful experience! Highly recommended! - 12/10/2023 
read more
AlisaE
I have dined here several times, and it is always amazing!! The food and atmosphere is always great!! Highly recommend!! - 12/10/2023 
read more
Kendall
We had a great evening and dinner, we will be back!! - 12/10/2023 
read more
Lindsey S. AvatarLindsey S.
5 star rating Excellent Food, service, and ambiance. Had the fish and chips! Best fish and chips we've had in a long time. - 12/09/2023 
read more
Julz
This restaurant always packed before a broadway show. Staff does a wonderful job trying to get everyone out in time for the performance. Kuddos! - 12/08/2023 
read more
Food was excellent and service was prompt. We will definitely dine again - 12/07/2023 
read more
Scott N. AvatarScott N.
4 star rating During our kitchen remodel we ordered out a lot, including orders from Nicholson's. Later that year during my 'big' birthday we stayed a week downtown and ate inside Nicholson's once. All dining experiences were very good. The food delivered via DoorDash was delicious. I'll admit I don't remember it super specifically, but I am pretty sure we ordered from Nicholson's more than once. Delivery can be spotty, but from Nicholson's it was always good. Since we were basically staying next door to Nicholson's for a week, it was inevitable we'd stop in once. This was not my first meal at Nicholson's, but it was my first with Mark. Everything was very good, including the Three Cheese Macaroni (TCM). Pretty sure we had fish and chips over and over again... and it was always good. And the TCM was delicious both delivered to our home and delivered to our table. Nicholson's is consistently delicious. The decor is kinda all encompassing. It's easy to forget where you are when you're inside. Not to mention they have a magical mirror! - 12/06/2023 
read more
squirebrandy
Great food, and great service. We love the atmosphere also. - 12/06/2023 
read more
Ray Olin AvatarRay Olin
The food and experience were excellent. We started with the crab cakes and a bread tray. I then had the fish and chips, while my daughter had a steak. It was all delicious. I would highly recommend, and I plan to come back again soon. Parking: We are from out of town, so I am not fully familiar with all the parking options. There were several paid parking garages nearby, and there is street parking. - 12/05/2023 
read more
Kirt Yanke AvatarKirt Yanke
I have visited Cincinnati two weeks in a row and this is the only place I've eaten that justified a return trip. Their bar, menu, and service are amazing. CJ was rocking a kilt and offered advice on apps, drinks, and food. The next time I am in this city I will be back. Try the Pot Roast!!!! - 12/05/2023 
read more
Patricia
Well ordered burger came raw inside and took so long to come back that we just got it to go. Also, the payment app on the receipt wasn't working for any of us so we had to wait on the waiter to pay. - 12/04/2023 
read more
First time but won't be the last. The food was great, service was exceptional, and the atmosphere was unbelievable! - 12/04/2023 
read more
Teroot
Very good experience as usual. Great server. Great food and drinks. - 12/04/2023 
read more
My husband and I went to Nicholson's before a show at the Aronoff. It is conveniently located across the street. The menu had enough variety that we both found dishes that we wanted. Everything was so delicious, from our appetizer to dessert. The restaurant was a good size, but it felt cozy and warm. I highly recommend! - 12/03/2023 
read more
diner
Love it here! BEST fish & chips, bourbon flights are fun (though they are currently struggling to keep stocked), service is always good, fun and comfortable ambiance, and proximity to Aranoff is perfect—- literally steps from front entrance! - 12/03/2023 
read more
RoCo
Great, authentic food selection; outstanding, comprehensive whiskey list, friendly, professional server. - 12/03/2023 
read more
SarahR
We loved our server. She was really nice and helpful - 12/03/2023 
read more
EllenM
We dine frequently at Nicholson's and dinner last night was our first soso food and service...we had reservations at 5:30...ordered starters that arrived and were not accurate.....we ordered our meals and meals arrived with 15 minutes before the show at Aronoff started...we requested to pay bill prior to having meals to save time....this is literally the first bad service and just okay food we've had in years dining there - 12/02/2023 
read more
Dpwazoo1
Food was delicious although portions were smaller than I’m accustomed to at Nicholson’s. - 12/02/2023 
read more
JeffreyE
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The food was as good as expected. The ambience was great. The noise level was low. Our server was trying hard but was not as knowledgeable as we had hoped. A new employee should well versed on Scotch and menu items. He was not. But tried and did get answers to our questions from other employees. - 11/30/2023 
read more
Mandy Hodge AvatarMandy Hodge
The food was good, but the items you might come here for (bangers, shepherd's pie) were less than great. An old-fashioned made with ice cubes and an orange wedge was not expected but still tastes great. The starters were fantastic. Definitely try the beer cheese and pretzel bites. The blackened salmon on Ceasar Salad was delicious. - 11/28/2023 
read more
Katie Weaver AvatarKatie Weaver
Hands down amazing bartenders with great recommendations! That mushroom/goat cheese soup the bartender recommended was so delicious. We came twice in the same day just because our morning experience was so great with brunch. Can’t wait to visit again soon!!! - 11/28/2023 
read more
Amelia Dresher AvatarAmelia Dresher
delicious upscale pub food. i had the nicholson’s burger and loved it. the fries are okay. our server, CJ was amazing. very charismatic and funny. would definitely recommend if you’re in that area! - 11/28/2023 
read more
Sylvia Stahl AvatarSylvia Stahl
My fiancé and I ate here tonight and everything was amazing! CJ was our waiter- He was sooo much fun and we have nothing but great things to say about him, the service and our meal. We’ll be back! - 11/28/2023 
read more
Jack Fano AvatarJack Fano
Uno dei migliori hamburger mangiati, ottime le birre e il servizio rapido ed efficiente! Ben frequentato, abbiamo passato una piacevole serata Food : 5/5 | Service : 5/5 | Atmosphere : 5/5 - 11/28/2023 
read more
LindaR
Delicious food - GREAT service!! Thanks for a wonderful experience ! - 11/28/2023 
read more
Khristi Snelling AvatarKhristi Snelling
such a cool place! food is awesome! Service is Excellent! - 11/28/2023 
read more
itim25
A very nice dinner and drinks across from the Arnoff Center prior to the show. An overwhelming selection of Scotch so I ordered the Highlands Flight. Very nice sampler. Food was really good for pub fare, a step up in fact. Everything from appetizers to dessert was well prepared and flavorful. The waiter we had was knowledgeable, pleasant and appropriately present. Well done. - 11/25/2023 
read more
jacktravellers Avatarjacktravellers
5 star rating Ottimi hamburger e ambiente bellissimo Uno dei migliori hamburger mangiati, ottime le birre e il servizio rapido ed efficiente! Ben frequentato, abbiamo passato una piacevole serata - 11/22/2023 
read more
Karine AvatarKarine
Everything was perfect at an unique place. - 11/21/2023 
read more
The food was excellent, and we loved the decor/ atmosphere. We started with crab cakes and the bread plate (both were very good). I had the fish and chips and my daughter had the Steak Frites. I highly recommend this place. - 11/20/2023 
read more
Beverly
Excellent service and food, came in earlier than our reservation but were able to seat us right away - 11/19/2023 
read more
MarkB
We always enjoy the great food and great service before we see a Broadway show! - 11/19/2023 
read more
Great brunch food! wonderful meal and drinks before the show - 11/19/2023 
read more
JamesF
Loved our waiter, could not have been more genuine, tried hard to accommodate requests, was willing to chat a bit but attentive to all tables and requests. Immediately acknowledged the restaurant did not have a special menu for the Play ALADDDIN, which they usually do for all the guests attending the theatre across the street. So he had the bartender make a special kiddie cocktail which he called the Aladdin's Treasure. He charmed my granddaughter, and make lemonade out of lemons. A perfect example of how honesty and a positive attitude can make guests happy! - 11/17/2023 
read more
A respite from your cares, walking into Nicholson’s feels like walking into a warm and inviting home. Cozy and warm, you can sit at the exceptional bar, a high top or low top table, or in a booth. There is even another area with a fireplace and a small crackling fire. The ambience is just the beginning. Beginning with your entrance, you are greeted and enjoy excellent service. I always order a cosmopolitan, which is one of the best in the city. The food is also outstanding. Blackened salmon and fish and chips are two of my favorites, but there are also Scottish dishes, soups, salads, sandwiches and flatbread. You cannot miss at Nicholson’s. Make sure you make a reservation! - 11/15/2023 
read more
squirebrandy
We love the food and atmosphere. We had the fish and chips, yum. - 11/15/2023 
read more
Tina M T. AvatarTina M T.
5 star rating Nicholson's is my go to when I'm looking for a cozy, fun atmosphere & good comfort food. The service has always been great- friendly and prompt. Nothing like a Baileys & coffee on a chilly night in a Scottish pub! - 11/14/2023 
read more
Justin N. AvatarJustin N.
5 star rating The ambiance was great..... super chill spot, great service and awesome food and drinks!!! The cheesecake was to die for.... Too bad we ate it before we could snap any pics!! We'll be back for sure. - 11/14/2023 
read more
Ivan Conte AvatarIvan Conte
We had a very good time in this place, good food, great service !! - 11/14/2023 
read more
Amy Rabovsky AvatarAmy Rabovsky
We booked the Garden room at Nicholson's for a rehearsal dinner on 10/6/23. It was wonderful! We were able to preselect dinners, appetizers and a bar package in advance with the coordinator so the evening flowed smoothly. The room and the attached patio area easily accommodated our group for cocktails, dinner and dessert. The food was delicious (many compliments on the shepherd's pie) The waitstaff was excellent and very easy to work with. I brought in dessert carts with parfaits cups and assorted treats and they were more then happy to serve all the guests. Their attention to detail and ability to handle dietary restrictions enabled all of our guests to relax and enjoy the evening. It was truly an extraordinary experience. I would recommend Elenya and her crew to anyone planning an event. Dietary restrictions: Able to accommodate gluten free and lactose free quests Parking: Most guests walked from hotel or parked in paid public parking Kid-friendliness: Kid meal of chicken fingers and fries - 11/12/2023 
read more
Leslie Gay AvatarLeslie Gay
Good place to go for dinner. Different atmosphere. I had a delicious salad with crisp apples. My only suggestions would be The shrimp and grits were in a pool of oil. Don't present a plate with that amount of oil. The prime rib (my hubby's meal) was too salty. He really enjoyed the coleslaw. He had 2 helpings! I'll come back just for the salad. Stilton Blue Cheese is my new favorite! - 11/12/2023 
read more
Debra Bryda AvatarDebra Bryda
Had to wait a little bit, but consider it was a Saturday night. Really loved the corned beef Reuben on marble bread, so good. The fries were plump as pillows with a good seasoning. - 11/12/2023 
read more
Sharon AvatarSharon
Josh was our waiter, he was fabulous despite having a huge group in the back. He was very attentive and everything was delicious! Try the Scotch egg!!!!! 🤤 - 11/12/2023 
read more
Lennox Vazquez AvatarLennox Vazquez
Always a good place to eat, drink, and hangout. Jess, Jordan, and Mike are great bartenders. Always making sure I have everything I need. - 11/12/2023 
read more
Jonathan Schliep AvatarJonathan Schliep
Great food and service. Lots of options for drinks. Fun atmosphere. I wish it was closer to where I live. - 11/12/2023 
read more
Brittani Shelton AvatarBrittani Shelton
Phenomenal restaurant! The brussel sprouts for a starter were exquisite. Highly recommend - 11/12/2023 
read more
Keith Mallory AvatarKeith Mallory
10/10 experience. Looking forward to having more events at this establishment! - 11/12/2023 
read more
Food was delicious and our server CJ was wonderful!! - 11/12/2023 
read more
KelleD
Fun atmosphere for a date night or meeting friends before an event. Great food and drinks! - 11/06/2023 
read more
MaureenS
My friend and I both ordered the Wee Fish and Chips dinners. Wee dinner is 2 pieces, full dinner is 3 pieces. This was by far the best fish I've had from a restaurant in years! I ordered the Tavern Old Fashioned and it was also delicious. Very well made. The service was great, from start to finish. The restaurant is beautiful and I want to return there when I have the chance! - 11/03/2023 
read more
SusanG
Great food and wonderful service as always! Highly recommended! - 11/03/2023 
read more
Had a great server, Calab, and typical great service and good. - 11/02/2023 
read more
If a unique tavern experience with fabulous Scottish flair is your desire, Nicholson’s in downtown Cincinnati is a perfect choice. Relaxed, yet upscale simultaneously, Nicholson’s is a location you shan’t forget. - 10/31/2023 
read more
JohnM
Took a chance on a restaurant harking back to my heritage (Very Scottish!). And, seeing it a 12 minute walk to Taft Theatre my wife and I gave this very well located restaurant a try: great service, cool decor and way above average Gastro Pub food with tremendous beer selection. Personally I could not resist their showcased bourbon centric Old Fashioned ….perfect. We went on a Thursday night and a forewarning: watch the Arnoff Center calendar: it got crowded closer to their showtime. We were early birds for a 7 o’clock Zach Williams performance (excellent) and the whole evening went well. Our server was knowledgeable and fun. We will be back. - 10/30/2023 
read more
theater
Our server Caleb was awesome- made it a very fun luncheon event. The crew were excellent at checking with us to ensure everything was ok. Kudos. - 10/30/2023 
read more
Daniel
Our server was Fifi, she was very kind, and made sure we had a Great Dinner, served perfectly. Pot roast was delicious!!! Ceasar salad was awesome. We had 2 drinks, was just enough... Dessert, toffee cheesecake was delightful...Thanks Fifi, you made our night! - 10/29/2023 
read more
Bill
Friendly and fast service at a fairly busy time. (Aronoff had just let out.) Food was good. Special Old Fashioned was good. We'll go back. - 10/29/2023 
read more
LindaB
CJ was fantastic! Really good food. Will come again 😊 - 10/29/2023 
read more
Feb2022
The noise level in the front of the restaurant was loud but I sat towards the back and it was very pleasant. The service and food was really good. The cornbread salad with chicken was good but just a little pricey. $26.00 was a little extreme. - 10/28/2023 
read more
Devon was great, the food was great, and the drinks were great. Can't wait till next time!! - 10/28/2023 
read more
KD88KEYS
I often visit Nicholson's. Service, food and ambiance is always great and they go above and beyond to be helpful. I have vision problems and they always accomadate my situation and they'll even walk me to the police crossing guard when I'm going to the Aronoff afterward. VERY great experiences........always! - 10/26/2023 
read more
MargaretH
Nicholson’s service was excellent in spite of the restaurant being extremely busy. Our food was delicious!!! Great atmosphere! Nice selection of bourbon and other spirits. Looking forward to eating there again. - 10/25/2023 
read more
Grace
Wonderful, as always! Adore the Scotch eggs. The shrimp & grits are a favorite. Never a disappointment. Perfect location for a pre show meal with Aronoff Center just across the street. - 10/25/2023 
read more
BethH
The server was amazing as well as the rest of the staff. I appreciate that they were willing to put us in the Hearth Room since my mom has hearing issues. GREAT experience - 10/25/2023 
read more
AngieB
The pot roast was amazing. Try the Old Fashioned it was also very good. - 10/25/2023 
read more
MelissaF
We really enjoyed our time at Nicholson's. Very happy that it was conveniently located directly across the street from the Aronoff. Our server was very attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The food arrived timely and everyone thought the food was delicious. The parmasean encrusted roasted potatoes were exceptional. We'll be back!! - 10/23/2023 
read more
JenniferK
The dinner at Nicholson’s was excellent. The food and service could not have been better. Our server Natalie was super friendly and sweet. My mom and I had a great time before the show! - 10/23/2023 
read more
WifeMomOf3
First time I've had thr shrimp and grits. So glad to see it on the menu. They were absolutely delicious. - 10/23/2023 
read more
ElizabethB
Great meal as usual and nice atmosphere. Definitely recommend the salmon or pot roast. - 10/23/2023 
read more
fretcom
We had a great experience at Nicholson’s. The salmon was incredibly prepared and the Patron mixed drink was just perfect. - 10/22/2023 
read more
MarkB
Great food, great service. They always have specials that go with the Broadway Series at the Aronoff across the street. - 10/22/2023 
read more
sencar
A great spot for lunch, pre theater cocktails or after dinner supper if you are going to the Aronoff for an event. - 10/22/2023 
read more
carolp
Server was so nice and constantly checked on me in busy environment before the play. - 10/22/2023 
read more
Grabbed a quick bite befor the show! Our waitress was super sweet and service was fast!!! - 10/21/2023 
read more
Sharon
Nicholson’s never disappoints. The food and service are great! - 10/21/2023 
read more
pat c Avatarpat c
5 star rating A Restaurant that does everything right! What a pleasant experience to eat here on the recommendation of friends, that are city residents. The wait staff were pleasant, attentive and professional. Meals were delicious, arrive promptly and hot. Beers were cold and arrived almost immediately! Good service as we were thirsty,and hungry. This restaurant did everything right, made for a very pleasant evening. If you are going to Cincinnati, this restaurant has my vote! - 10/20/2023 
read more
PattyB
Fantastic server who kept us alerted about the timing of ordering and enjoying our mean in time to make the curtain at the Broadway Series at the Arnonoff. Loved the themed-offerings. - 10/19/2023 
read more
DougB
Good food and great atmosphere! Great place to have dinner before seeing a show at the Aronoff. Authentic decor and great selection of whiskey and bourbon. - 10/19/2023 
read more
Très bonne endroit 👍 très convivial et chaleureux - 10/19/2023 
read more
squirebrandy
It is our go too when downtown. The food is great and i like the Scottish atmosphere as well as the great food and service. - 10/18/2023 
read more
Claire Lechtenberg AvatarClaire Lechtenberg
Had a fantastic meal on a Saturday night. We walked in without a reservation and they seated us immediately. Our server was Jesse, who was super kind and attentive. We ordered the beer cheese for an appetizer- which was a delicious pretzel with chopped carrots and celery - and got the Steak Frites and Shepherd’s Pie for entrees. Both were delicious and we subbed out the fries for roasted potatoes. Dinner concluded with the seasonal crumble for dessert which was pumpkin! Tasted like a pumpkin pie with vanilla ice cream. Highly recommend the raspberry mule for a cocktail and the Tennant for a a nice lager. - 10/12/2023 
read more
Travis O'Riordan AvatarTravis O'Riordan
The food was fantastic and the service was great. There was a great pub feel while also feeling more up scale than your typical pub. The fish and chips were top notch, some of the best I’ve had in the Cincinnati area. If whiskey is your thing then look no further. The whiskey selection is huge with several different options for doing a tasting. Also a great place to hangout while watching the game. - 10/12/2023 
read more
Tammy Bricka AvatarTammy Bricka
The restaurant was able to accommodate 28 people at the last minute, providing a separate room, separate checks for all, and staff. The service, staff, and food were fantastic. Everyone was served fast with delicious hot food. There were no errors in the food orders or mix-up on the checks. Great Job! - 10/12/2023 
read more
Jenna Howard AvatarJenna Howard
We went before the MJ show at Arnoff on a Saturday night while Octoberfest was going on and UC was playing at home. We got our food super fast and it was beyond delectable! If I could give 10 ⭐️ I would - 10/12/2023 
read more
JulieH
Great food options for all. Vegetarian items available and they made a custom pasta dish for us. Service was prompt and friendly. Great team approach. Perfect location. - 10/08/2023 
read more
meanser
Very nice pub! Great good, amazing service and got out in time for our show - 10/08/2023 
read more
DionA
Loved everything here from the ambiance to the food to the drinks! Definitely will be back! - 10/07/2023 
read more
BrianS
Great ambiance and service. Menu changed since the last time I was there, but no problem finding something appealing. Had the burger which was just average, but other members of my party all really enjoyed their meals. Quick and friendly service that got us in and out before attending a show downtown. - 10/02/2023 
read more
All the food and drinks were very good but I have to say that this place has the best beer cheese I’ve ever had! - 9/29/2023 
read more
Our server made us feel welcome and enjoyed the night. - 9/27/2023 
read more
We had a great experience at Nicholson’s. CJ provided outstanding service, making recommendations that worked for our entire party. Outstanding dishes included the Guinness Egg rolls, Sheppards Pie, and Sticky Toffee Pudding. The Restaurant Week Caprese salad was also a standout with delicious fresh tomatoes. We’ll definitely be back! - 9/26/2023 
read more
Tamara S. AvatarTamara S.
5 star rating Went for my 11 month dating anniversary with my boyfriend and CJ was our server! CJ definitely went above and beyond and made it a delightful experience for us. So glad that we went. The good was super duper scrumptious. It literally made me say "they know how to COOK!" I loved the lighting in the restaurant too! - 9/25/2023 
read more
We had the Nicholson burger and fish and they were fantastic!! We took home the toffee cheesecake and it was great and definitely enough to share!! - 9/25/2023 
read more
Hiram2
As always, everything was great! Suggestion; Maybe have staff updated on stock levels of Scotch and bourbon. Too much time was wasted on waiter going back and forth to bar to see if our choice(s) were available. Also, this was 3rd time this happened as well... We had 3 couples in the group and when check came, it was for entire table. That's just a pain to get taken care of properly. We all hope to be back soon! - 9/24/2023 
read more
Great food and even better service. Ambience was really nice. Felt the Scottish vibes! - 9/24/2023 
read more
We were seated right away with our reservation. We had great food and great service. However, where our table was situated, there was no room around it. Our table was in the back room. It was squished in the middle of three other tables and a fireplace. Even the person who sat us seemed embarrassed, as he tried moving the table closer to the fireplace so we get around the other side of the table to even sit. We could not sit comfortably out from the table without hitting the person’s chair behind us. It was an unfortunate seating situation. I still think we would be back because of the food and service but maybe ask for a table round the bar? - 9/18/2023 
read more
DavidR
Service was great. It was totally packed with people so the noise was higher than expected. Food was very good. We appreciated that the server was aware that we had a tight schedule and made sure we got our food quickly and was able to get to the thearter on time. - 9/18/2023 
read more
KrisM
Nice selection of beer, and their temporary menu offerings to match whatever show is at the Aronoff is fun! The shrimp and grits was delicious. - 9/18/2023 
read more
1st time being here. It was great food, large selection, service could of been a little faster, but it was a busy night. Will be back again - 9/18/2023 
read more
MargaretL
Excellent all the way around. Highly recommend! Food, service, prices, and atmosphere were all very good! - 9/18/2023 
read more
edwardB
Always great food super service. Such a fun place to go. Very consistent. Love here. - 9/18/2023 
read more
MissBrown
Service is great on show nights! Very attentive, (but not overbearing) and they help you time your meal perfectly so as to not run late for showtime. - 9/16/2023 
read more
KarenW
Fish and chips is a signature dish and delicious. Highly recommend. - 9/16/2023 
read more
TonyS
Great place! Fantastic service, food and drinks! We loved it! - 9/16/2023 
read more
KevinP
Always good! Convenient to aronoff ! Service good , beer cold! Good vibe on play night! - 9/15/2023 
read more
TinaM
Overall our experience was great. Our waitress was wonderful. - 9/15/2023 
read more
NedR
Very nice. Only complaint is that they no longer have the Barbecue Chicken bites on the appetizer menu. Buffalo bites are ok, but the barbecue bites were outstanding! Really miss them. - 9/14/2023 
read more
Bobby
Great atmosphere and fish and chips delicious haddock. Drinks great. Fantastic Scottish pub - 9/14/2023 
read more
Kirsten H AvatarKirsten H
Went here for some drinks and appetizers and absolutely loved it! The bartenders were very friendly and helpful, lots of good recommendations and they seem to genuinely be comfortable and enjoy the space they work in. We got scotch eggs and crab cakes, both of which were very good. We didn’t stay for more sadly but will be coming here again to try more! If you like whiskey and trying new things this place is worth looking into. The prices are reasonable and you can get whiskey flights to try things you may not have otherwise. - 9/12/2023 
read more
Melissa Bell AvatarMelissa Bell
We booked the Nicholson's for our wedding rehearsal and they were fabulous! We ordered about 6 different food options and 1 dessert with open bar wine and beer options and everyone had the best time! Plenty of space for food and mingling. We took their upstairs venue and I also loved how the back opens up to a pergola with vines growing, very beautiful. - 9/12/2023 
read more
Karen AvatarKaren
5 star rating Gastronomical Night Nickerson 's was excellent choice for dinner prior to Aranoff show. The food was delicious and service excellent It was my birthday and was happy to share it with this establishment - 9/12/2023 
read more
Joe Styer (Resource Mobility) AvatarJoe Styer (Resource Mobility)
Stopped in for lunch and really enjoyed the meal and atmosphere here at Nicholson's. Staff was attentive and polite. Looking forward to coming back. - 9/12/2023 
read more
Phillip Hagan AvatarPhillip Hagan
Attended a lunch retirement party for a co-worker. Room was nice, the fish and chips were excellent, and desert was fabulous. - 9/12/2023 
read more
Nina AvatarNina
Excellent everything!!! The men in kilts is the icing on the cake though! Real men wear kilts! - 9/12/2023 
read more
Michele Young AvatarMichele Young
Great drinks. Soft pretzels with beer cheese were great. Very cool place. - 9/12/2023 
read more
Bruce Pruellage AvatarBruce Pruellage
Just stopped by for drinks. Nice place - 9/12/2023 
read more
Debbie Gillen AvatarDebbie Gillen
Wonderful meal before the MJ show. - 9/12/2023 
read more
Lew Lew AvatarLew Lew
Not a fan of a salmon dip.. - 9/12/2023 
read more
J AvatarJ
Great place will go back. - 9/12/2023 
read more
jon bennett Avatarjon bennett
Great place to hang. - 9/12/2023 
read more
Nicholsons is our favorite pre-aronoff spot! Wonderful everytime! - 9/10/2023 
read more
MeredithG
Food was very good, as was the service. Unfortunately, Nicholson's is such a popular restaurant that many, many people who were going to the Aronoff were all dining here around the same time, so it was hard for them to serve everyone. But they gave it an outstanding effort. I do recommend this restaurant. - 9/09/2023 
read more
Carol
Food was good and service was spot on. Great place for a night out or before a play. - 9/09/2023 
read more
MarkB
Great service and great food. The specials were very creative. - 9/09/2023 
read more
PC9992
Disappointed in the steak. Ordered medium & received well done & tough! - 9/07/2023 
read more
tomd
Wonderfull !!! A great evening !!! Great food !!! Excellent whiskey !!! I 1st time experience, will return. Enjoyable evening - fine dining, fine entertainment across the street at the Aronoff! - 9/06/2023 
read more
squirebrandy
It never disappoints. The food was served perfectly and hot, tasted great, and it was plenty to eat. - 9/06/2023 
read more
Favorite
Enjoyed our meal before a Red's game. Our server Deja was quite good. Love the atmosphere. - 9/04/2023 
read more
HeidiB
We decided to try a new place before the playhouse on Sat. The food exceeded our expectation. Of course I was the only one who had had a Scotch Egg before....Perfection! I struggled a little to find parking, as we were in heels, but it all worked out. Thank you! - 9/03/2023 
read more
AceC
This has a great Scottish Pub vibe with a genuine ornate wooden bar that came via boat from Edenborough. The food was very enjoyable and the service great. A must try place to visit! - 9/03/2023 
read more
Sanzuell AvatarSanzuell
5 star rating liv Nice pub atmosphere and live music of Tavern Pub was good. However, I think they could have turned off the TV behind the singer while she was performing. Good beer and decent food. - 8/30/2023 
read more
Kevin R. AvatarKevin R.
5 star rating I love their boozy coffees! We also always enjoy their beer cheese platter. I'd recommend you order extra pretzel bites, because they are very generous with the amount of beer cheese they offer. Staff has always been friendly, and we've always been able to get a table or bar seat right away. Atmosphere is a nice pub feel. Great for a casual night out! - 8/29/2023 
read more
Anne Frankel
We had our son’s Rehersal dinner at Nicholson’s. It was a wonderful experience! The team was very attentive and patient as I made several updates to the menu. On the day of the event the staff was very attentive to the guests and ensured we had everything we needed. Of course the food was wonderful also! - 8/29/2023 
read more
The scotch egg was amazing. The sticky toffee pudding was also amazing. The bangers and mash was very good, and the braised cabbage was surprisingly a fantastic side. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody searching for a scotch egg, like my family tends to do when we travel. - 8/26/2023 
read more
Mason
Fe Fe was an attentive and personable waitress. She rocked! - 8/26/2023 
read more
Bart
We traveled from Ontario to Cincinnati for a long weekend Our last night was dinner at Nicholson's and it was a great experience! Josh was a personable server, made great suggestions for drinks and food Would definitely recommend this restaurant to others. - 8/21/2023 
read more
LindaM
Great fish and chips. Might have to ask for more coleslaw, though. It’s a fun place to eat. - 8/18/2023 
read more
Mark W. AvatarMark W.
4 star rating Stopped in around 8 pm on a Monday. Seated quickly by friendly staff. Good beer selection. Ordered the hot brown and a small salad. 40 minutes after being seated, my food was brought out. Lots of cheese melted on the top. Small pieces of tomatoe were sprinkled across the top of it. Overall, ok tasting. Cool atmosphere and will return to try something else - 8/14/2023 
read more
KyleL
Our waiter was Colombian and was very attentive. Made the birthday dinner an excellent expierence - 8/14/2023 
read more
Tami Collins AvatarTami Collins
EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! Great customer service from the moment we walked through the doors to the moment leaving through said doors! The hostess greeted us with a warm and welcoming smile and our server Ava was a joy and pleasure and a breath of fresh air! There was a young man ( in an amazing kilt) that brought out drinks to the table and we talked to him and wow, such a pleasant attitude! It's rare to find GREAT customer service that actually centers around the customer, THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH! EVEN CHEF! Now to the food! 😋 We started with the Salmon dip and omgee! Wonderful! It just got better after that! "The Cincinnatian" was different and delicious, true Cincy style burger! Idk if this is a regular burger option or a burger week exclusive but a true delight! I also ordered a raspberry mule that was mm mm mm good! (Sorry Campbells 😊) I also ordered the Kentucky Burgoo to go and that was amazing as well! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! We can't wait to return! - 8/12/2023 
read more
Allen Guthier AvatarAllen Guthier
This place is fantastic! Irish pubs are commonly found in the US, but a Scottish pub is harder to find. The whole atmosphere is really great, the drinks are beautifully presented, and the food is delicious. To top it all, CJ was one of the best servers I’ve had in years. Super friendly and made sure we had a wonderful time, from the very beginning of the meal to the very end. If you’re still deciding where to go, this is the place. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Aaron S AvatarAaron S
Wife and I walked in at around 9:15 pm on a Tuesday and asked if the kitchen was still open and without hesitation they answered yes. I had the fish and chips and the wife had the Nicholson’s Signature. The food was great! We sampled a few of the drinks, one that stood out was the Perfect Patron. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a nice sit down restaurant with a bar top feel. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Jacob AvatarJacob
This place is my absolute new favorite in town. The food is great, atmosphere is fun, and CJ makes this place the literal best place in town. Seriously. I will come to this place multiple times a week because CJ makes the best drinks and my friends and I have the most fun. Been here twice this week already. Love it here, highly recommend, and I will keep coming back. Because CJ. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Jillian Buga AvatarJillian Buga
Place was super neat. Really enjoyed the ambiance and other cool decor items. Our server Jessie was awesome! Definitely made the experience. Food was good and was priced well along with the drinks. Had a nice selection of appitezers, would have to say the brussel sprouts were our favorite. Parking: Had to find a parking garage and walk about a quarter mile or less to get there. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Madhu Babu Rapolu AvatarMadhu Babu Rapolu
I had Brussels sprouts, Chicken Schnitzel and deep fried Cauliflower. Each one of them is absolutely amazing and delicious! Waiter serviced us is top class! He did show great patience in answering all our questions and coming back after checking with chefs on vegan dishes. Only uncomfortable thing we noticed was Air conditioning was not good at the place we sat. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Aaron Torres AvatarAaron Torres
Had a great time here. My favorite was the pork belly it’s an underrated appetizer in my opinion! The drinks and atmosphere were great thanks to our waiter CJ! CJ was incredibly attentive to our table and made it worth going back more than once in one week. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Alex C. AvatarAlex C.
Decent and great drinks. Awesome selection of whiskey. The food was above average and appetizing. I would definitely go here again. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Sam Hirsch (Supercraft) AvatarSam Hirsch (Supercraft)
Good food and good drinks. Definitely coming back as long as CJ is my waiter. - 8/12/2023 
read more
George Akpu AvatarGeorge Akpu
Had a blast here! C.J. was absolutely amazing. Would definitely come back!! - 8/12/2023 
read more
Bob Donovan AvatarBob Donovan
Good special burger week burger. Nice Scottish atmosphere. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Customer D AvatarCustomer D
Service was great. Food quality seems to have changed. - 8/12/2023 
read more
Scott Gutauckis AvatarScott Gutauckis
Nice place to sit down and have a drink - 8/12/2023 
read more
Kristine S. AvatarKristine S.
4 star rating Hubby and I stopped by Nicholson's to enjoy a couple pints of Guinness. We both thought it was a pretty cool spot for drinks. The bar area was huge with plenty of seating. The private event space/garden room was adorable! It would be the perfect place for a birthday party or gathering. The service was great. Attentive and helpful. If we didn't have plans for dinner, we totally would have ordered food. The menu sounded delicious. - 8/11/2023 
read more
Larry H. AvatarLarry H.
5 star rating My wife and I stopped in on a Saturday night, no reservation. Short wait, and we were seated out on the patio. Ordered crab cakes for an appetizer. Excellent. Good size, great flavor, perfect for two people. My wife ordered the pot roast for her dinner, and I had the fish and chips. The fish and chips was good, with special praise going to the chips (fries). Coleslaw was good, but honestly, it was a tiny portion. Let's talk about the pot roast. First, that may be the best pot roast I have ever tasted. Second, the roasted carrots were perfection. Third, the mac and cheese was very good. My wife said that meal could easily be a "last supper". We both ordered dessert - I had their English toffee cheesecake, which was scrumptious, and my wife tried their "tipsy laird", which she devoured. There was a mix up In the kitchen, and they accidentally brought my wife the wrong dessert initially. They corrected the mistake as soon as they realized it, no extra charge to us. Because of this, we got to try their Seasonal Crumble dessert, which was very good also. Our server was good, and we really liked the vibe of this place. The patio is covered, so we were neither too hot nor too cold. It's a great spot if you're catching a show at the Aronoff, and they switch up their menu a bit on nights when a performance is happening. Would not hesitate to come back here again! - 8/06/2023 
read more
We were seated promptly. We had a drink order taken and glasses of water brought to us quickly. We had lots of yummy options on the dinner menu. Had a few questions that our server answered. Food was ordered and brought out to us in a timely fashion. Everything piping hot. While everything was wonderful, the very best part was our server, CJ. He was so knowledgeable, took great care of us, and was so much fun. You’ve got a great asset there. We hope to be back soon! - 8/06/2023 
read more
DeniseH
Great meal before our show. Our server was CJ and he did an excellent job!!! Kudos to CJ for taking the time to give us the history on the building and the owner and connection to Scotland. - 8/06/2023 
read more
VJC1
We really enjoyed our evening. Our server Rhett was new, but did everything he could to make our meal enjoyable. The crab cakes were amazing. My hubby had the Steak and Frittes and really enjoyed it. I had the fish and chips and the fish was a bit overcooked. It was hard in the thinner pieces. But yummy nonetheless. I couldn’t have eaten it all anyway! We will definitely be back!! - 7/30/2023 
read more
BarbaraO
love this place can't wait to visit cinncy in the future so we can come back for more food. outstanding - 7/29/2023 
read more
Monica A. AvatarMonica A.
5 star rating Have returned to this lovely pub many times the food never disappoints. Our server was courteous and the food came out quickly. Noted the macaroni was a little clotty today and they gave us a discount without us really complaining. (Usually its amazing) We had several different dishes all very tasty - 7/24/2023 
read more
Would go again and would tell people to go. Food was good, price was fine. We enjoyed it but weren’t blown away. The bread plate is fantastic but not enough bread was my only complaint. Will go again for sure but not my top five. It’s a good restaurant when you want to mix up your routine. That said. I’m a very particular person and kinda hard to excite. Take this into account when adjudicating it for yourself. 5/5 very satisfied. - 7/23/2023 
read more
Beth
My sister and I dined at Nicholson’s for my birthday and we had a wonderful experience. We both had the delicious house salad and fish and chips. The salad was fresh and the breaded fish was hot and tasty. Our server Emma was fantastic! She was friendly, attentive and she made sure we had everything we needed. Thanks Nicholson’s for a lovely evening. - 7/23/2023 
read more
MichaelM
Fish was great. Chips (fries) were underdone and not good - 7/22/2023 
read more
BethS
Nice downtown spot for dinner, drinks or dessert and coffee. I'm personally not too into the Scottish menu - but there are enough other options to choose from and all that I have had have always been delicious! - 7/21/2023 
read more
Dave A. AvatarDave A.
5 star rating Chicken Schnitzel at a Scottish Pub - really? It was hands down the best I've ever had. My GF had the salmon which was also very good (but not as good as the schnitzel). The service was also superb. Highly recommended! - 7/19/2023 
read more
SarahS
We all had salmon salad for lunch and they were fantastic! - 7/17/2023 
read more
LaTraviata
It is difficult to use the scales OT uses to evaluate aspects of a dinning experience. One has to "average" food dish quality, and"service" issues between one's excellent server and a kitchen that has its timing all wrong. We had great cocktails and salads, but our main dishes were delivered, not by our server but someone else, before we were anywhere near finished our first course. When we commented on this the response was something to the effect that " yes, our kitchen is really efficient". Our server was apologetic and took the items back to the kitchen, Unfortunately, when returned they were simple the same dishes, just now no longer hot. Our server was great, offered to replace what was bad and clearly should have been running the entire operation. I think the solution when dining at less than a top-of-the-line restaurant, is to order dishes sequentially, not all at once. We have dined here before and will give them another try, treating this experience as a random event. The cocktails are excellent and food prices are very reasonable. The front part of the restaurant, the bar area, is energetic; but there are quieter areas in thee back - take your pick. - 7/15/2023 
read more
Meg D. AvatarMeg D.
4 star rating Service was fast. Food and drinks were delicious with lots of yummy choices! I did think it was interesting their pot roast came with mac n cheese and not potatoes, but I'm not mad about it! Watch out for the slick floors by the kitchen; it's a bit oily on the way the to the bathroom. - 7/14/2023 
read more
Brooke Dubler AvatarBrooke Dubler
I hosted my sister’s bridal shower here and it truly turned out better than I could have expected! At first we had a slight hiccup in communication with working with their hospitality department, but the GM and assistant GM more than made up for it. I worked with Natalie after that and she went above and beyond. She was there for every question and concern I had. She was there on the day of my event and was so hands on and helpful, as well as the rest of the staff! From helping me with communication on road closures and traffic with Pride falling at the same time and day as my event, to setting up and breaking down, she was there. The Garden Room came with the patio and it was the perfect place to bring together my vision of a summer garden party. We also still had the inside room to keep the food and utilize before we went outside for the brunch. Amazing time and super grateful to Natalie and her team! - 7/12/2023 
read more
Sherry M AvatarSherry M
Coolest place ever!!! Definitely makes you feel like your in Scotland/Ireland. The guys wear kilts, the service was fantastic and the food and drink were delish! Highly recommend the Raspberry Mule for a starter drink, the pretzel w/ beer cheese and the Crab cakes for appetizers and the Haddock was nice and crisp!!! They also have an incredible selection of Scotch and Bourbon. A must eat when your in Cincinnati! - 7/12/2023 
read more
Lauren Fitz AvatarLauren Fitz
We were here for the Taylor Swift concert and had delicious food and drinks (special limited time off drinks for the Taylor concerts shown in the pictures) before the show! The Scotch egg and the crab cakes tasted amazing and the thousand island, cheese, and corned beef all paired perfectly on the Reuben. Great ambiance and can’t wait to be back again to try other items on the menu that sounded delicious! - 7/12/2023 
read more
Courtney Beckford AvatarCourtney Beckford
I really love CJ’s skill hospitality and serving best believe he deserves a big tips in the future Parking: Nothing else needs to be said good serving - 7/12/2023 
read more
Mindi Resnick AvatarMindi Resnick
Had a delish salad 4 lunch they have lunch specials - 7/12/2023 
read more
Heidi B. AvatarHeidi B.
5 star rating Josh is incredible. He was straightforward about different menu items that we were looking at. He made suggestions that turned out to be absolutely phenomenal. I'm typically picky about sausage and we talked it through, and I am so glad I did. The bangers and mash were outstanding. My husband was looking at the rubin. Josh said you know exactly what your getting but if you'd like to try something new he recommended the pork sandwich, which is what he ended up with. Another phenom choice. We will return when we are in Cincinnati. Glad we blew off the other restaurant we were going to. This truly is a find. - 7/07/2023 
read more
ChristopherH
Nicholson’s is my destination spot whenever I’m in Cincinnati. Was in town over the weekend for the Taylor Swift concert and despite all of the insanity, my favourite pub gave me respite. Awesome food, amazing cocktails, and marvelous service. THE best pub in Cincinnati. - 7/03/2023 
read more
Foodie757
It was a wonderful place to grab a bite to eat before the Taylor Swift concert. Great service and excellent TS themed cocktails. Highly recommend. - 7/02/2023 
read more
Brooke D. AvatarBrooke D.
5 star rating I hosted my sister's bridal shower here and it truly turned out better than I could have expected! At first we had a slight hiccup in communication with working with their hospitality department, but the GM and assistant GM more than made up for it. I worked with Natalie after that and she went above and beyond. She was there for every question and concern I had. She was there on the day of my event and was so hands on and helpful, as well as the rest of the staff! From helping me with communication on road closures and traffic with Pride falling at the same time and day as my event, to setting up and breaking down, she was there. The Garden Room came with the patio and it was the perfect place to bring together my vision of a summer garden party. We had the perfect amount of food from their brunch options and add ons and it was delicious! We also still had the inside room to keep the food and utilize before we went outside for the brunch. Amazing time and super grateful to Natalie and her team! - 6/26/2023 
read more
peggy
Nicholson's has a menu I really like. It's always a hard choice for me to decide. We look forward to going there before a theater event. The location is wonderful. But we really come for a good meal, good drinks and a nice evening with friends. The service was good, prompt, friendly but not intrusive. And I think the value was outstanding. - 6/18/2023 
read more
I didn’t get the waiters name, but he was a very nice gentleman in a kilt. Very good service, very good food. Sat us in a quiet section, that was nice away from the bar. - 6/18/2023 
read more
ElenyaS
Fantastic place to eat! The servers were attentive, polite, and fun. The place and location is unique and the prices are fantastic for the amazing food! 100% a 5 star place to eat! - 6/17/2023 
read more
Our waitress was wonderful, super friendly and helpful. We had cocktails from their Moulin Rogue themed menu before the show! All of our food was delicious especially the pot roast. I highly recommend checking them out! - 6/15/2023 
read more
DavidL
We just keep coming back. We find it overall very enjoyable and look forward to returning again - 6/13/2023 
read more
Jessica R (TrinityRisky) AvatarJessica R (TrinityRisky)
What a fun place!! Menu prices vary, they have a great selection of pub inspired foods that come out beautifully plated. Very visually pleasing! Oh and everything tasted AWESOME. We started with a starter, Scotch Egg. Highly recommend it, boiled medium egg, fried or baked with a sausage outer layer and served with some great mustard and mixed greens. The pot roast is absolutely worth it, my Mac n cheese was on the cold side but still tasted good. I splurged and ordered a Pimm's Cup ($12, normally I do not drink out) and let me tell you it was the perfect drink for a summery day! For two diners, a starter, two meals, two adult beverages and a soda our total was in the mid $80s. It was absolutely worth it! If your going to a show at the theater across the street this place is the perfect start. I do recommend getting reservations!!! - 6/12/2023 
read more
Joe Christmas AvatarJoe Christmas
I really liked my meal here. I have never been to Cincinnati and I first tried the Over-the-Rhine area. I found that area packed and intimidating (FC Cincy was playing Montreal). As I was walking back to Covington, I stopped in here and found that it was just my speed. Friendly waitstaff, pretty good food, lots of beers to choose from. I got the chicken schnitzel and felt it was great. Truly hit the spot. Thank you! - 6/12/2023 
read more
NancyT
Looking for a moderate dinner in Downtown Cincinnati. This is the place. We enjoyed great appetizers and entrees. Scottish pub menu, steaks, salmon, and burgers. Great beers, cocktails and of course Scottish tastings. - 6/12/2023 
read more
Angel Fiszlewicz AvatarAngel Fiszlewicz
We had Mother's Day dinner, and everything was great! The server was perfectly attentive, drinks were delicious, and our food was AMAZING!!! Highly recommend, and plan to visit again!! - 6/12/2023 
read more
Happily Apathetic AvatarHappily Apathetic
Delicious food, warm atmosphere, and the staff were fantastic. Pretty good selection of Bourbon, whisk(e)ys, and scotch. Pleasantly surprised and haply with Nicholson's. - 6/12/2023 
read more
Sagar Kane AvatarSagar Kane
Very friendly and prompt service. Tasty food. Quite reasonable for an upscale eatery in downtown. - 6/12/2023 
read more
Denise Bermudez AvatarDenise Bermudez
The place is wonderful. Service was great. Food was delicious. Walking distance to everything - 6/12/2023 
read more
Jeff Hollis AvatarJeff Hollis
Amazing dinner! Highly recommend a visit. - 6/12/2023 
read more
Nan C. AvatarNan C.
5 star rating Delicious Gastropub with Scottish menu items. With a nod to the Irish, they did a perfect and proper Guinness pour! Appetizer bread board with butters, jelly and olive oil, Scotch egg and fried pork belly all enjoyed. Bourbon sour has a touch of DiSaronno and was delicious as well as bourbon cucumber smash. Bangers and mash and Shepherd's burger were great entrees. Finished the evening with the Lowlands Scotch Flight Great service! Very glad we chose this restaurant tonight. - 6/09/2023 
read more
terryc
We really enjoyed our dinner. We had the Brussels sprouts appetizer and the Genius spring rolls. We also all had the fish and chips. We will be back soon. - 6/09/2023 
read more
JuergenBu AvatarJuergenBu
4 star rating Very solid fish & chips Really nice place with atmosphere. Fish and Chips were of great taste and - as half portion - manageable. Alongside great selection of draft beers. Only opportunity was cleanliness at bar … took too long after handing over the menu until my area was cleaned. - 6/06/2023 
read more
BrianA
Food and service were outstanding. I highly recommend the fish and chips. Great selection of beers and whiskeys. - 6/06/2023 
read more
AFoodiesFavorite
90% of the time we eat here before the show across the street. You can’t beat the convenience, but it’s the (always excellent) food and service that keeps us coming back. - 6/05/2023 
read more
RileyB
Great food and service. I highly recommend this place prior to or after a show at the aronoff - 6/05/2023 
read more
DanielleD
Great service and food. Got us out with plenty of time before show. - 6/04/2023 
read more
Cancer
Has 3 seating options: table, bar, and table with high chairs. - 6/04/2023 
read more
Christy C. AvatarChristy C.
4 star rating Great place to stop in for a bite and a drink before or after a show or other downtown event! Delicious food -- the pretzels and beer cheese appetizer is one of my go-tos, and others I've gone with really like the fish and chips. Wine selection could be better, but there are plenty of beer and whiskey options if that's your jam. Service speeds vary depending on how busy they are, but they're usually good. Atmosphere is casual and truly embraces the pub vibes. They also have a happy hour during the week with discounted drinks and small bites. They sometimes do themed menus to match the show currently at the Aronoff, which is fun. - 6/02/2023 
read more
JHBC
Loved the scotch egg, the Guinness wrap, and the pretzel was a surprise- didn't know pretzels got better, but it was amazing! S - 6/01/2023 
read more
LindaC
Took us about 15 min to get our drinks. However, when they arrived they were the wrong ones and it took another 10 min to get the drinks. It was happy hour but the final bill did not reflect the price change. Need to have more bar help. - 5/31/2023 
read more
squirebrandy
Great food and plenty of it. We enjoyed the food, drink, and location. We love eating here. - 5/31/2023 
read more
KathyK
This is a get place prior to going to the theater. Great special meal and drinks special to fit the current play of Moulin Rouge. They will work to get you out on time for the show. - 5/29/2023 
read more
carolm
Lovely outdoor seating on a fantastic day. Quick and easy to get to the Aaronoff Theater for the performance. - 5/29/2023 
read more
theater
Another great pre-show lunch with a fabulous waitress - 5/29/2023 
read more
AmandaM
My son and I became instant fans of Nicholsons from the moment we walked in! Who wouldn’t love seeing people dine in throne-like chairs! Our waiter was attentive and pleasant. The food was AMAZING! I felt the price for what we got was super, super reasonable. For an iced tea, appetizer, two meals, and 2 desserts, our bill was only $65! Will 100% be back!! - 5/28/2023 
read more
SusanG
We are frequent diners here. Love to eat here before seeing a show. As always, excellent experience! It’s great to have a reliable restaurant we can depend on for good service and food! Thank you! - 5/28/2023 
read more
MorMor
Great time with friends before the Play. Service was excellent and our waitress was friendly and efficient. Food was good and enjoyed by all as were the drinks and the atmosphere as always. - 5/28/2023 
read more
Andreajbosoph
This is a great place to eat any time you ate downtown, but especially after the Aronoff plays. The food and service are excellent, and the ambience is wonderful, inviting , and relaxing. - 5/28/2023 
read more
JoanF
It was a great evening, but the food could have been hotter. I had the brussel sprouts and they were cold and dry. - 5/26/2023 
read more
tomS
Our server Emma was exceptionally friendly and helpful and made our dining experience superb! - 5/26/2023 
read more
coyote2711
Thoroughly enjoyed our pre-show dinner and drinks! Love the show-related menu options. The food, service, and ambiance were excellent!! Will definitely be back! - 5/25/2023 
read more
Sherry
It was a busy Saturday night with many patrons appearing to go to the Aronoff for Moulin Rouge across the street. We had seats for the 8:00 show so we made reservations for 5:30 to have plenty of time to eat and enjoy the evening. We were seated promptly and service was very good. Server was pleasant and fairly attentive. Food arrived quickly and tasted delightful. My daughter had the Caesar Salad, I had the Caledonia Chicken Sandwich with the squash medley, and my husband had the Bourbon Burger with fries. We shared the Beer Cheese Appetizer. We were all very satisfied with our choices. We were not rushed and were able to enjoy the meal and easily be at the Aronoff at 7:00 p.m. when doors opened. I highly recommend making reservations since they do get very busy, especially near show times. The 5:30 time slot worked great for us for the 8:00 show. - 5/24/2023 
read more
Nancy
Even though I made a reservation for a booth by the bar, the hostess seated us somewhere else. I told her we always sir there and she said it was reserved. I said I had reserved it. She said she would check and never came back. - 5/24/2023 
read more
Denise
This was a great place to eat and have a drink before a show Aronoff Center across the street. - 5/24/2023 
read more
TammyH
Pot Roast was outstanding and Natalie our server was very welcoming. - 5/23/2023 
read more
DanL
We went for dinner before a play at the Aranoff. The weather was beautiful so they had the doors open. The waitstaff was pleasant, efficient, and did a good job. My wife and I enjoyed our meal and drinks. - 5/22/2023 
read more
Love the atmosphere! Food and drinks were great also! Will definitely make this our go to spot after a show at the Aronoff. - 5/22/2023 
read more
MarkB
Great food. Creative specials and specialty drinks to go with the Broadway show at the Aronoff. - 5/22/2023 
read more
MarilynC
Wonderful place to dine prior to going to Aronoff. - 5/22/2023 
read more
PalmSpringsDiner
In an area with many dining choices, Nicholson's Fine Food & Whisk(e)y stands out as being unique, in terms of its decor, its menu, and its attitude. All in all, it's a lot of fun, sufficient variety in the food choices, and an overall very good value. We enjoyed it very much and look forward to returning on our next visit to the area. Hint: We were there mid-week, late morning, and the kitchen seemed a bit slow (I suspect it was a staffing issue). However, that didn't deter or discourage us from having a great time! - 5/21/2023 
read more
Briggsy4
I really love this place. Food is good. Drinks are good. Right across the street from Aronoff so great for pre-show meal. I love the speciality cocktails that tie into the Aronoff show. I do miss the pot de creme, it is a little noisy, and drink special recipe seems to vary (I ordered 3 of the same this last visit and each one was very different, though all tasty). Stull a strong recommend from me and we will be back next show. - 5/21/2023 
read more
BethB
Were seated in the back as requested so nicely quiet. Hadn’t been in a while after a bad experience several years ago but were impressed with the food and service and will definitely return! - 5/21/2023 
read more
Stevie
Location & experience in connection to the show featured at the Aronoff was wonderful. Noise level not great for an intimate date, but instead a fun party. - 5/21/2023 
read more
KevinS
First time dining here. Bar area is very cool and old world character. Plenty of seating. Huge selection of whiskeys and bourbons. - 5/21/2023 
read more
GreatGradDay
Everything was amazing, including our server, Azalea. She made the night even more special with her great personality. - 5/21/2023 
read more